Channels State Forest
Channels State Forest is located in Washington and Russell Counties, 15 miles north of Abingdon. The Channels Natural Area Preserve is located on the crest of the mountain and includes The Great Channels of Virginia sandstone outcrop. Read and download our brochure on the Channels State Forest (PDF format).
Use Permit | Parking/Hours | Recreation | Regulations
- Lat-Long: 36° 49’ 40.9”, 81° 57’ 43.5 ”
State Forest Use Permit
A State Forest Use Permit may be required for visitors to the state forests.
A State Forest Use Permit is not required for forest visitors who practice the following activities on a state forest:
- Brumley Mountain Trail - Route 80 Parking (GC3TG6A) which is at N 36° 51.865 W 081° 56.818. It is a small metal container tied to a tree just below the parking area.
- Brumley Mountain Trail - Mile 1 (GC3TG6E) which is at N 36° 51.863 W 081° 57.594. It is a small plastic container in the center of a clump of trees across from the DCR sign, just before the 1 mile marker.
- Brumley Mountain Trail - Large Rock #1 (GC3TG6K) which is at N 36° 52.085 W 081° 58.386. It is a small plastic container at the end of a fallen tree, just to the right of the first large rock you come to at a switchback, close to 2 miles on the trail.
- An earthcache does not have a physical container, but teaches an earth science lesson. Channels Natural Area Preserve (GC3TG5Z) at N 36° 52.266 W 081° 58.766.
Parking/Hours of Operation
- Open daily from dawn to dusk.
- Parking is available in the area on Route 80.
- Email the forest personnel.
- For specific questions or scheduling at the Channels State Forest, email or contact Zach Olinger (276.236.2322).
All Terrain Vehicles (ATVs)
Motorized vehicles of any type are prohibited on all of the state forests.
- Horses are permitted on the forest.
- Coggins Test Certificates must be available for each horse on State lands.
- We recommend that equestrians dismount and lead their horse over bridges and
Hunting is permitted on the Channels State Forest. All persons, except those legally exempt under Virginia law, must carry a valid Virginia hunting license AND a State Forest Use Permit to hunt or trap on the forest.
State Forest hunting regulations and seasons follow those of the county in which the State Forest is located. Check the Virginia Department Of Game and Inland Fisheries (DGIF) Hunting & Trapping Regulations and Information for special restrictions on State Forest lands, such as Either-Sex Deer Hunting Days.
Wear blaze orange during hunting season.
State Forest Regulations
To ensure your safety, read our complete state forest regulations before visiting a forest.
- No removal of any tree, plant or mineral.
- Remove all trash.
- Motorized vehicles of any type are prohibited
- No camping or public display of alcohol.
- No fireworks, campfires or open air fires of any type.
- Lawful firearms are permitted.
- Hunting is permitted with a valid State Forest Use Permit and valid hunting license in accordance with state hunting regulations.
- Fishing in designated areas only in accordance with state fishing regulations.
- Gasoline motorized boats are not permitted.
- Vehicular traffic on established roads only; not permitted on gated roads.
Tuesday, 31-Mar-2015 09:50:24 EDT